Kyle Moore, Jeb Stewart  win Bryan Phillips tourney $2K scholarship awarded

L-r: Sheila Phillips; Kyle Moore; Jeb Stewart; Brad Phillips.

The team of Jeb Stewart and Kyle Moore won the annual Bryan Phillips Memorial Golf Tournament in a sudden death playoff against the team of Robert Pence and Brady Cliett.

After regulation play of 27 holes, both teams were tied with scores of 100, 6-under par.

On the first playoff hole, #18, Moore rolled in a ten-foot par putt to win the golf tournament.

This was the second year in a row that Jeb Stewart has won this event.

Last year, Stewart finished first with partner Ian Glanton.

Tied for third place with scores of 101, 5-under par, were the teams of Michael Wolff and Thomas Wolff, along with Glenn Cardell and Tommy Gillis.

The 27 competition is comprised of a 9-hole 4-Ball, a 9-hole Scramble and a 9-hole Alternate Shot competition.

Brad and Sheila Phillips express their appreciation to all of the players, sponsors and volunteers for honoring the memory of Bryan through the success of his Memorial Golf Tournament. 

A $2,000 scholarship was awarded by Brad and Sheila Phillips to Abigail Zerwig, daughter of Randy and Holly Zerwig. A 2019 graduate of Metter High, she will attend ABAC this fall, majoring in ag education. 

This year, 44 teams competed for the championship.

Flight winners

Championship Flight: Jeb Stewart & Kyle Moore, 1st place, 100; Robert Pence & Brady Cliett, 2nd place, 100; Michael Wolff & Thomas Wolff, 3rd place, 101.

Championship ‘A’ Flight: Glenn Cardell & Tommy Gillis, 1st place, 101; Adam Callaway & Turner Fordham, 2nd place, 106; Luke Lanier & Stevie Lanier, 3rd place, 106; Houston Holloway & Joey Williams, 4th place, 107.

Championship ‘B’ Flight: J.C. Smith & Chris Aspinwall, 1st place, 106; Hunter Stuckey & Bill Jern, 2nd place, 107; Alex Reddish & Jimmy Bynum, 3rd place, 107; Dale Bennett & Morgan Bennett, 4th place, 107.

First Flight: Dennis Allen & Kevin Beasley, 1st place, 109; Cade Curl & Jeremy Curl, 2nd place, 109; Sam Bradford & Alex Hendricks, 3rd place, 110; Allen Crooms & Russell Mathis, 4th place, 111.

Second Flight: Phillip Linbarger & Trey Royal, 1st place, 112; Brent Carter & Rand Hendrix, 2nd place, 114; Chris Clance & Billy Smith, 3rd place, 114; Jamie Sutton & Frazier Sayre, 4th place, 115.

Third Flight: Zach Stanford & Jordan Wiley, 1st place, 119; Spence Wright & Larry Wiley, 2nd place, 122; Rex Childs & Randy Childs, 3rd place, 125; Warren Melton & Jordan Bland, 4th place, 128.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.