Seventy percent of the county’s 6,300 registered voters (4,445) took part in the historic Nov. 3 General Election. Approximately half of those voters took part in advanced voting or absentee voting, while half showed up on election day, according to the official election summary report.

And while some counties across the nation are embroiled in pending litigation, demands for recounts and other issues, it appears that the Candler County election took place with minimal problems.

Miles, Robinson, Thomas win local races

Incumbent Sheriff John Miles won by a 3-1 margin over challenger Kris Storey for another four-year term. 

Incumbent District 3 Commissioner David Robinson also carried his district over challenger Larry Gibson with 70 percent of the vote. 

In the County’s District 1, to replace retiring commissioner Wayne Culbertson, the vote was much closer, but it was Democratic challenger Gregory Thomas who carried the district by 11 votes over Republican Larry Lamar Miles Jr. 

President, federal & state races

The local community was decidedly Republican as an estimated 70 percent of the votes cast in the Presidential race and key federal races were won by Republican contenders.

President Donald Trump (R) led locally over former Vice President Joe Biden (D) 3,134 votes to 1,269. Incumbent Senator David Perdue carried similar totals over Democratic challenger Jon Ossoff. 

In the Senate Special Election, Republican Incubment Kelly Loeffler won over Republican challenger, 1556 to 1,251. Raphael Warnock (D) garnered 778 votes.

For U.S. Congressman, Rick Allen (R), incumbent easily carried the county over challenger Liz Johnson.

In the State Representative race, long-time incumbent Butch Parrish (r) also carried Candler over Democratic challenger Ann P.D. Gleason.

Run-off election

A run-off election has been called in both of Georgia’s Senate races. In the first race, Senator David Perdue and challenger Jon Ossoff will return to the ballot, while Senator Kelly Leoffler and Raphael Warnock will be on the ballot for the Senate seat to replace Senator Johnny Isakson, who retired early. 

The run-off will be held Jan. 5, 2021, and early voting will begin Dec. 14.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.