It’s that time of year again! The Candler County Public Education Foundation is preparing to kick off its 2020 Fund Drive, which will run October 1-November 1.

Already, the faculty and staff of the Candler County School System have kicked things off in fine fashion, contributing $15,000 toward the Foundation’s goal of $40,000.

The Class Challenge is on once again!

Riding on the success of last year’s Class Challenge, the Education Foundation has announced a new Class Challenge for this year.

“Once again, we challenge Metter High School alumni and community members to a friendly competition between graduating classes,” explained Luke Lanier, Education Foundation chair. “Last year, the MHS Class of 1966 raised over $4,000. The Class of 2000 came in a close second place. Which alumni class will win this year?”

If you’re not a graduate of MHS, don’t worry. “You can assign your pledge to your favorite graduating class - or just make a donation,” Lanier said. 

How funds are used

“Every dollar goes to advance learning experiences for Candler County Public School students,” Lanier said. “Please help Candler County’s students by making a donation today.”

Funds are used to provide access to critical technology for uninterrupted learning, strengthen academic programs and support innovative teachers and learning experiences.

“Thanks to your support, our schools now have personal technology devices for every single student,” Lanier said. “These laptops, Chrome books, and tablets ensure uninterrupted learning. Our teachers have maximum flexibility for classroom instruction. And for those students learning from home this fall, they have access to online learning. 

“Together we have accomplished so much for our students.  Please donate today. Now, more than ever, our students and teachers need access to innovative instruction materials and learning opportunities.”

How to give

Donations can be made at one of six sponsorship levels: Hall of Fame Partner, $1000 or more; Foundation Partner, $500-$999; Superintendent Roll, $250-$499; Principal Roll, $100 to $249; Honor Roll, $50 to $99; and Merit List, under $49.

Donations can be designated to a graduating class of MHS or made with no designation. Contributions can also be made in memory or in honor of someone. 

Credit card donations can be made via PayPal at, or contributions can be mailed to The Foundation for Public School Education in Candler County, PO Box 21, Metter GA 30439.

Donors to date

Candler County School personnel who have donated to date include the following:

Hall of Fame Partner: Allen Lanier; Alton West.

Foundation Partner: William Thigpen; Missy Purvis; Toney Golden; Bubba Longgrear.

Superintendent Roll: Cadeisha Cooper; John Jordan; Riley Kingery.

Principal Roll: Kerri Dennis; Roberta Graham; Julie Akins; Victoria Broome; Autumn Chicola; Lisa Deloach; Rosa Deloach; Dylan Dixon; Taylor Dollar; Cassandra Donaldson; Kim Grantham; Donna Kennedy; Lesa Brown; Jill Carter; Clare Hooks; Suzanne Hunt; Kellie Jordan; Cheyenne Kersey; Amy Barnes; Robbie Dollar; Daniel Flowers; Felicia Forbes; Erin Golden; Tom Golden; Doug James; Sandy Johnson; Zachary Rackett; Philisia Spearmon; Ellis Strobridge; Tamara Walden; Lisa Longgrear; Randall Walker; James Carlyle; Melinda Franklin; Marsha Pate; Monicca Bohannon; Miranda Rigdon; Craig Lanier; Jaimee Stuart; Miranda Thigpen.

Honor Roll: Terri Bland; Debra Dekle; Tamara Hutson; Denise Strickland; Parker Gordon; Terrance Green; Octavia Houston; Kellie Mixon; John Mark Sweat; Lafonda Taylor-Hacvkett; Vicki Bowen; Jenny Brantley; Kim Brown; Adina Cliett; Cheryl Cobb; Kendra Howard; Michaela Iwinski; Casey Moore; Heather Parrish; Beth Phillips; Alyx Powell; Eric Verbel; Stephanie Costley; Ronnie Doolittle; Heidi O’Connor; Julie Ray; Melody Young; Lelon Bailey Jeffers; Jim Espinoza; Sarah Hickman; Jennifer Lewis.

Merit List: Tonya Bird; Tonja Williams; Penny Buxton; Natiuer Deck; Michelle Holloway; Tracy Holloway; Rosa Morales; Tammy Durden; Shannon Anderson; Christie Berry; Lane Cardell; Jennifer Collins; Lakisha Dekle; Marcy Deloach; Alicia Douglas; Christy Driggers; Nicole Givens; Connie Hackle; Pam Holloway; Rose Lira; Laura Lott; Anna Williams; Scott Waters; Ashlee Lott; Madison Davis; Shaunta Ellis; Aundrea Akins; Janice Smith; Della Coney; Jessie Givens; Carol Mainer; Alyssa Akins; Angela Bird; Melissa Crooms; Nacole Davis; Joy Dorsey; Megan Eason; Brittany Hendrix; Julie Johnson; Kimberly Lassiter; Tara Lee; Brenna McDaniel; Melissa Porter; Sydney Rowe; Rachel Smith; Jill Vining; Rebecca Waters; Sandy Wilson; Hannah Youngblood; Vic Fordham; Ray Woodcock; Anthony Lescak; Cherie Lewis; Holly Beasley; Deborah Daughtry; Jessica McGowan; Robin Goodman; Glenise Mikell; Sherry Tyler; Monica West; Robin Wright; Mitch Nobles; Randi Colvin; Pam Heath; Lori McGowan; Kim Woods.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.